The Cult Of TV logo

Agony - series 3 DVD release

Agony series 3 DVD release details

Title: Agony - series 3
Release Date: 17th August 2009
Format: DVD (1 disc set)
Classification: 15
Run time: 175 mins
Barcode ref: 5027626309145
Released by: network







Agony - Series 3 DVD release:

Press release by Network DVD:-

Network is proud to announce the release of AGONY – THE COMPLETE THIRD SERIES (12) on 17 th August 2009, RRP £12.99.

This witty BAFTA-nominated sitcom features Maureen Lipman (The Pianist) as sassy “agony aunt” Jane Lucas, who finds that while dishing out advice to strangers is simple enough, sorting out one's own personal life can prove a lot more complicated. Lipman earned a BAFTA nomination for the role and her wry yet warm comic delivery is sure to elicit both laughs and sympathy in what is a refreshingly bittersweet, nuanced show.

In this third series, Jane is reconciled finally with her husband, and they are expecting their first baby. This series also features Miranda Richardson as a guest star in one of her early roles. AGONY originally aired on ITV from 1979 to 1981 yet still comes across as a highly intelligent and progressive show; no wonder then that it has been retrospectively likened to the popular 1990s American sitcom Frasier.